Optimism

Yesterday I had yet another meeting. My life seems to be full of meetings and appointments lately.

Im not complaining, I just find it difficult, that a professional has to tell me things about my child, my child that I have brought up for the past ten years, things that make me understand him a little better. Its like a jigsaw, bit by bit all the pieces are coming together, and I’m slowly understanding him more and more. Its not that i haven’t tried to understand Junior, I really have. I have asked him why he does certain things, to which he will always reply “I don’t know”.

image

Yesterday we think  we may of got to the bottom of Juniors constant chattering, how he can be very loud at times (most times), and does a high pitched scream (a lot), you see our support worker suspects, Junior does this to block out all the sensory stuff, this is how Junior deals with everything, when it gets a little too much. For years we have told him off, for screaming and been so loud. We have been sent for hearing tests, to see if he’s so loud because he is hard of hearing. Juniors not got anything wrong he has good hearing, so we were discharged. Sitting back and processing what was said yesterday, makes complete sense.

Im a support worker for people with disabities, I work with Adults on the ASD spectrum. I have had lots of training, I should of picked up on all of this. I never have. Never once did it cross my mind Junior had been suffering and i could of helped him. I’m not going to beat myself up anymore, I’m just going to do the best I can. That’s all we can do now. Look forward.

We spoke about PEC boards, Junior uses them at school. They work brilliantly, despite his controlling behaviours, he really gets a lot from them. We are starting simply with a evening routine, then reviewing in two weeks, to hopefully build another routine in. Junior is really enthusiastic about it all. Which is brilliant. I’m ordering a fiddler today, and I’ve already ordered a lovely chewing necklace. I’m hoping all these aids help him at home, as much as they do at school and his clubs.

I have been recommended to read “the out of sync child”. i don’t know if any of you have read it? It might be worth a read.

This morning I’m feeling optimistic. It feels good. Optimistic that things can get better. They can’t get any worse, but they can get better. Hopefully these aids will help improve things for everyone. We have a lot of work to do. It’s going to be a long journey.

image

For now I need to go sort Junior, he’s just woke up, woke everyone else up and is currently throwing clothes down stairs.

The joys. ✌🏻️❤️

 

 

Leave a Reply

